2018-2019 Awards 

WHO Best Exemplifies Those in Our Profession? WHO Are Our Outstanding Students?

The Awards will be presented at the 2019 CA Academy Annual Conference in Riverside, CA (April 11-13, 2019).


Congratulations to CA Academy & Academy 2017-2018 Award Recipients

The Envelope Please!
The 2017-18 CAND/AND award recipients have been announced! Our thanks to all who compiled and submitted award packets and those who wrote letters of recommendation. While all of the candidates were deserving of the awards, only those listed below were chosen for recognition this year.


And the winners are…

2017-2018 Member Awards

CA Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

CA Academy's HIGHEST AWARD – Dolores Nyhus Memorial Award

Linda Gigliotti, MS, RDN

Distinguished Service Award

Elizabeth Ann Lake, MS, RD, CNSC

Excellence in Clinical Nutrition
Diane Bloomberg, MS, RDN, CNSD

Excellence in Community Nutrition
Lisa Gibson, MS, RD, FADA

Excellence in Education
Robyn Osborn, PhD, RD

Excellence in Private Practice, Business, Communication
Lisa Underwood, MS, MBA, RDN

Excellence in Research
Francene Steinberg, MS, RD, PhD

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

AND AWARD – Outstanding Dietitian of the Year
Linda Gigliotti, MS, RDN

Emerging Dietetic Leader
Sangeeta Shrivastava, PhD, RDN

Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year
Alisha Rowe, MS, RD - Bay Area District
Tiana Carey, RDN – Northern Area District
Ginger Cochran, MS, RDN, CEP, CDE - Coastal Tri-Counties District
Kelsey Peterson, MS, RD - San Diego District
Teryn Cook, RD - Central Valley District
Sarah Leslie, RD Silicon Valley District
Amy Zhong, MS, RDN - Orange District

Recognized Young Dietetic Technician of the Year
Cynthia Tovar, DTR

Outstanding Dietetic Student – Didactic Program
Nneka Omekama

Outstanding Dietetic Student – Dietetic Internship
Kayli Brown, DTR


Outstanding Dietetic Educator Awards: 2018

Outstanding Dietetic Educator: Dietetic Internship
Betty Garrity, MPH, RDN - UC San Diego

Outstanding Dietetic Educator: Didactic Program in Dietetics
Lisa Herzig, PhD, RD, CDE - CSU Fresno

Outstanding Dietetic Educator: Coordinated Program
Carin Kreutzer, EdD, MPH, RDN, FAND - University of Southern California

Outstanding Dietetic Educator: Dietetic Technician Program
Beth Blake, MPH, RD - Orange Coast College