Advocacy and Public Policy

California Academy Public Policy Council Members 

The Public Policy Council  represents the members in legislative, regulatory and reimbursement issues related to the dietetics profession.  To volunteer with the Public Policy Council email VP Public Policy.

Vice President Public Policy 
Brenda O'Day, MS, RD, CNSC
Oversees and coordinates all activities of the Public Policy Council; member of the California AcademyExecutive Board.

 Public Policy Coordinator (Federal + State Issues)
Michelle Katz, MS, RD
Organizes grassroots efforts with the Academy and the California Academy's participation in pertinent federal legislative activities related to food and nutrition; engages members for action alerts on federal legislation; leads delegation to Advocacy Summit Events.

 Consumer Protection and Licensure Coordinators
Karissa Bouchie, RD, CDE, FAND and Resource: Pat Booth, MS, RDN, FADA
Works on profession-related issues, such as scope of practice and licensure.


Nadine Braunstein, RD

Christina Patron, RDN

State Legislation Coordinators

Jenna Fahle, RD 

Catherine Howard, RD