Public Policy

CA Academy Public Policy Council
The Public Policy Council  represents the members in all legislative, regulatory and reimbursement issues related to the dietetics profession.  To volunteer with the Public Policy Council email VP Public Policy.

Public Policy Council Members

Lorri Holzberg

Vice President Public Policy 
Lorri Holzberg, MA, RDN
Oversees and coordinates all activities of the Public Policy Council; member of the CAND Executive Board.

AND Delegate Representative to Public Policy Council
Teresa Bush-Zurn, MA, RD, FADA, FAND

Public Policy Coordinator (Federal Issues) & Public Policy E-Newsletter Editor
Fatinah Darwish, MPH, RD
Organizes grassroots efforts with AND for CAND's participation in pertinent federal legislative activities related to food and nutrition; engages members for action alerts on federal legislation; leads delegation to Public Policy Workshop.

State Policy Representative
Heidi Kiehl, MS, RDN, CNSC
Coordinates state legislative activities and Public Policy Workshop California (PPW CA); chairs the State Policy Committee.

Healthcare Reimbursement Representative (HCR)
Lisa Gibson, MS, RDN, FAND 
Works with AND and the State Regulatory Specialists on all healthcare reimbursement issues; keeps the affiliate informed on healthcare reimbursement regulations.

Consumer Protection and Licensure Coordinators
Pat Booth, MS, RDN, FADA
Works on profession-related issues, such as scope of practice and licensure.

State Regulatory Specialists
Judy Gould, MA, MS, RDN
Monitor state regulatory information; works with state issues related to health care, promotion of the RDN in health care; and changes in health care.

CANDPPW Coordinators
Steven Blankenship, RDN,

Christina Patron, RDN

Nadine Braunstein, RD

State Legislation Coordinators
Jenna Fahle, RD and Catherine Saade, RD

Legislative Ambassador Coordinator
Ashley Rosales, RDN

Congressional Ambassador Coordinator
Lauren Pitts, MA, RD

Student Club Liaisons
Jackie Burke 

Nneka Omekam


DPG Consultants to Public Policy Council

Linda Gigliotti, MS, RDN, CDE (Weight Management) 

Jessica Lowe, MPH, RDN, CSP (Pediatrics)

Danica Cowan, RD (Integrative & Functional Medicine)

Lobbyist iSacramento
Jim Gross and Missy Johnson of Nielsen, Merksamer, Parrinello, Gross, Leoni, LLPs, 1415 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814


District Public Policy Representatives

Bay Area District 
Tiffany Horne, RDN, CNSC 

Northern Area District 

Joey Miller, MPH, RDN 

Vicky Flaig, MEd, RDN

Coastal Tri-Counties District 

Fiona McKiernan, MS, RDN, CSG

Los Angeles District          


Jocelyn Harrison, MPH, RD

Kelsey Kettell, RDN

San Diego District 
Ann Lake, MS, RDN, CNSD 

Kara Sansone, MS, RD

Central Valley District 
Ashley Larsen, RD

Silicon Valley District 
Christine Brownell, RD

Jovanna Ponco 

Orange District 
Sarah Delcourt, MS, RDN

Alexa Worhman, RDN

Diablo Valley District 
Open Position

Inland Empire District 
Sarah Tomlinson 

Lindsey Morse